The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The petition to the city council states that there should be a ban of the use of cellphones while walking on the sidewalk, stating that this will result in reduction of the number of sidewalk crimes in Centerville. This petition has a series of unsubstantiated claims and is therefore unconvincing as it stands.

Firstly, the author assumes that Middletown had imposed the ban because it was facing the same issue as Centerville, there exists a strong possibility that the ban was imposed because people were using the phones while crossing the roads, which led to a high number of accidents and deaths, and thus a ban was imposed so that pedestrians focus on the road and a large number of lives are saved. The reduce in number of reported incidents of sidewalk crime might be a cherry on the top of the cake. More detailed review on the reason for the ban in Middletown is needed in order to make a comparison.

Secondly, there is no reason mentioned for the sidewalk rage, it is clearly assumed that people, while using their phones are just clashing and a minor clash turns into a fight causing property damage, it is also possible that the rage occurs because there are a large number of pickpocketers, chain snatchers, thieves on the street which make an attempt to steal and might be noticed and then chased, the chase might lead to disruption of property as well. If this is the case, then strict laws and penalties have to be imposed in order for the rages to reduce.

Thirdly, the city might also be in a state of turmoil and there might be violent clashes between different groups going on, in such a case, the use of mobile phone is completely irrelevant. The ban even if it is imposed, might not be beneficial at all.

Additionally, it is also possible that the sidewalks are very narrow and on that there might be stalls outside the shops, blocking the shops' entrance, this might lead to conflicts between the shop owners and the stall owners daily, due to which a high number of rages are reported. In such a case, the stalls should be relocated in order to achieve the desired result.

Due the following reasons, the argument stands flawed and the decision can be made thoroughly only after a clarity has been provided on the doubts stated above. There needs to be a detailed report in order to make a right decision which will solve the issue being faced.