The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

There has been a marked increase in the cases of sidewalk rage in the city of Centerville. In order to address this problem, the argument states that cell phone usage should be banned on sidewalks. This argument is flawed as it does not takes into consideration the difference in the attitude and geographical differences between two cities. Moreover, there are a lot of multimedia devices nowadays that are similar to a cell phone. Hence, only banning a cellphone might not be the best solution.

Firstly, the attitude of the people in Middletown and Centerville are assumed to be the same. On enacting the ban, the people of Middletown chose to follow it and this gave them a working solution to the sidewalk rage problem. The people of Centerville might not take the rule in the same way. They could react violently, protest and this could inturn increase the rage problem even more. Hence, some account of how people behaved towards new laws involving technology ban in Centerville could help to see if such an action could solve the sidewalk rage problem.

Secondly, cell phones are only small subset of multimedia devices today. There are tablets, ipods, mini-computers that perform the same task as cell phones. The walkers could be still using those devices after the ban on cell phones. The argument has assumed that cell phones are the only major devices that are used in sidewalks in Centerville which is false. There should be a thorough analysis of devices used by sidewalkers and a blanket ban on all those devices could help in reducing sidewalk rage.

Thirdly, it is assumed that texting is the main cause of sidewalk rage. People also listen to podcast, attend online meetings when walking. Texting is one of the activities performed while walking. There assumed causation that texting leads to increased rage. Other activities such as listening to stimulating podcasts, news could also lead to increased rage among walkers. Therefore, understanding the content consumed by users and their behavioural implication are necessary. Banning such content could help keep a calm emotional state for the walkers.

In conclusion, understanding the attitude of people in Centerville, analysing cell phone usage and similar multimedia devices during walking and understanding the variety of content and activities that walkers engage during walking could help in strengthening the argument that ban on cell phone can decrease sidewalk rage crimes in Centerville.