The following is from a recent email from the Diord Corp. Human Resources Manager: “Tobor Technologies found that mental health problems and mental illness were responsible for about 15 percent of employee sick days. Tobor amended its employee insurance plan so that workers receive the same coverage for mental illness as they do for physical illness. In addition, the company hired an on-site psychologist and created a system that allows workers to schedule confidential counseling appointments. After one year, the number of sick days used by employees declined by 10 percent. Diord Corp. has had an increase in employee sick days over the past two years, so we should introduce a similar insurance plan and counseling program. These measures will surely reduce employee absenteeism and cause an increase in productivity.”

Whenever a person lifestyles changes immediately, they may also experience changes in their body. It could be externally or internally. During the process they may fall sick, feel tiredness or weakness. It is a common thing for any person going through it. Recently, an email from the Doird corp Human Resources manager stated that they have observed an increase in employee sick days over the past two years. And assuming the root cause as the mental health problems and mental illness. They are comparing themselves with the Tobor Technologies and deriving the conclusion based on their internal statistics about thier employee sick days. To prevernt it Tobor Technologies is amending an employee insurance plan to schedule confidential counseling appointments with the on site psychologist. Which made the gradually decrease in the employee sick days in Tobor Technologies.

Based on the above statistics of the Tobor Technologies, the HR manager wants to implement the same insurance plan in their company. But they have not mentioned the number of employees working in the Tobor technologies. And amount of work pressure might be different. The work pressure in their might be more than comparesd to the Diord Corp. This could be a reason for the mental health. The amount of hours they were working is not mentioned. The volume of the company may be large and 15% in it might be very less employees to be conisdered. And even what type of work they are doing it, which lead to the mental health is not stated.

There are many factors to be considered before tring to implement their policy. The reason might be different for taking up sick days. Some employees might have got fever, cold or cough. Some of them can be faking, in order not to loss thier pay out. Just because Tobor technologies primary survery's says it is because of the mental health cannot be copied thier survery and assume the same reason. Diord Corp also need to do the survey in thier company and draw concluion from it. As we can't compare two person based on their external apperance, similarly we should not compare our issue with the other person issue and think it is same.

Therefore, HR manager need to rethink about the matter and find the solution for it based on thier survery.