The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy — and generate additional tax revenues — is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author concludes that Hopewell should follow the path of Oceanview to increase its tourism revenue. This conclusion is based on the idea that Hopewell and Oceanview are similar cities, and that nothing has changed for the past 2 years. However, in coming to this conclusion, the author has made several unjustified assumptions that severely undermines the validity of the argument.

The biggest logical leap in the argument is that, the author assumes that the policy that worked in ocean view will also yield similar results in Hopewell. Hopewell residents might not have the same amount of disposable income as the residents of ocean view, or Hopewell might not have as many tourist attractions as Oceanview. Therefore, Hopewell’s economy won’t necessarily improve even if the resort and golf course were built. In order to strengthen this part of the argument, the author must provide evidence on the similarities between Oceanview and Hopewell.

Further, the author makes the logical leap that the economy has remained the same for the last 2 years. Building the resort and golf course might have been feasible 2 years ago in ocean view, but assuming that similar economic conditions exists in the present time is fallacious . The economy could have a downturn during the past 2 year, which would imply that the disposable income of people also could have reduced. The author has also not considered if there were any other golf courses or resorts nearby, because this would mean increased competition and reduced footfall.

In conclusion, the argument presented is considerably flawed by virtue of its reliance on many unwarranted assumptions. Additional information about the current economic situation, and the similarities between Oceanview and Hopewell is required to prove the hypothesis beyond a doubt