The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books Monarch Books should open a caf in its store to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books which recently opened a caf Monarch which has been in business at the s

To compete with Regal Books, the business manager of Monarch Books suggests adding a cafe to the bookstore just as what Regal Books did to attract more customers. To make space for the cafe, the manager decides to sacrifice the children's books section, which he thinks will become less popular given the prediction of low birth rates. However, the reasoning behind such a decision includes a wide variety of unfounded assumptions and fails to consider the many factors that attract customers to Monarch Books.

Adding the same feature of cafe as Regal Books does not guarantee a successful competition. In fact, businesses should find their own niche and exercise their unique qualities to their target customers instead of simply following the steps of other businesses. As a business that has been open in the same location for more than 20 years with a steady customer influx, Monarch Books should extend their strength in gathering the hearts of local customers. They should keep looking for more diverse books, which is their unique advantage. They should also conduct customer satisfaction surveys to visitors to truly understand what their customers want, specifically what would attract their visitors to another bookstore. Investing money in a cafe that might not improve their status can be a waste of money for Monarch Books, and they can use the funds to purchase more diverse books and survey their customers.

What's more, since the biggest edge of Monarch Books is its diverse book collection, it should not sacrifice the section of children's books just to make space for a potential cafe whose strength is not clear. Among customers who are attracted by the wide selection of books in Monarch Books, there must also be customers, including parents, teachers, and children, who specifically look for children's books. Cutting that section will cause the bookstore to lose these customers. What's more, the bookstore may even lose more customers as although the cafe itself doesn't take much space, the storage place for the ingredients needed for the cafe can be huge, which might require the store to close even more of its book sections. Even if most customers do not look for children's books, cutting this section will also show the bookstore's lack of determination in including various types of books and its submissiveness to commercial competition that does not necessarily bring their readers benefits, but only increases their own profits. Thus, more customers will become suspicious of the bookstore's ethos after they discontinue the children's books section and will not frequent the store anymore.

Finally, the business manager interprets the results of the national census incorrectly, for even if there are less teenagers under the age of 10, there are still people who need children's books. These can be educators, researchers, authors, and parents-to-be. They still need these books as valuable resources for their careers and entertainment. What's more, as a person who works in the cultural industry, the business manager should not ignore the benefits of a small population just because they want more profits. Such an act is immoral and unfair. After all, bookstores exist, apart from making money and providing jobs to people, to cultivate the foundation for a more educated and civilized society, and the manager should not ignore the cultural meaning of the work he does.

In a word, the business manager of Monarch Books should reconsider his decision due to a variety of reasons. He should modify his competition strategies, prioritize their customers' opinions, and reevaluate the results from the national census. Moreover, the bookstore should never underestimate its responsibility as part of the cultural and educational industry.