Some people believe that traveling to and living in numerous places increases one s ability to relate and connect to other people Others believe that this ability is better cultivated by living in one place and developing a deep understanding of that comm

Every year, thousands of bicyclists travel to the Tibetan mountainous area to bike up the mountains. While it is a sacrosanct pilgrimage to see the Tibetan god, the journey is not light at all: the high altitude and the underdeveloped roads make it almost impossible for people to travel there alone. Therefore, a lot of people have made connections along the way, helping each other out and finally establishing organizations to help enthusiastic bicyclists bike up the mountain. Looking back at these people before they came to bike, I can't imagine a group of city-dwelling people who are satisfied with staying in one place can connect with so many others, since they have a routine schedule that prevents them to meet different people.

Traveling requires people to develop interpersonal connections because of the challenges and discomfort it brings. Traveling means going to an unfamiliar place, where unexpected difficulties will surely occur. Ranging from currency exchange to flight delays, travelers need to tackle countless challenges that they will not experience in their quotidian, regular lives. The pressure brought by a strange place during traveling can prompt travelers to take a step in talking with others, asking for help and company. In contrast, in their natural habitat, they feel too comfortable to make any extra connections. The limited time during travels also further hones people's connection skills, having to articulate their thoughts within a short conversation. Moreover, traveling also teaches people to maintain relationships even across a long distance. A lot of friends that people make might show up again in a long time due to the long distance. However, travelers can learn to cherish long-distance friendships after travels with these new people that they have met. Marco Paolo, an Italian anthropologist, made connections with local people in China when he traveled here, because he was a stranger to the place and needed assistance. That's why his documents of China can be so detailed, attracting more Westerners to explore the East.

Traveling also brings people more opportunities and a more uplifting mood to connect with others. People travel because of their curiosity about the outside world, and therefore, they will naturally want to learn more about the local culture when they travel. That's what prompts them to make connections with others from diverse backgrounds. Also, most people travel because they want to relax, or at least inject some different colors into their monochromatic lives. Thus, they will generally have a more positive and fulfilling mood to embrace conversations with others.

Finally, traveling pushes travelers to communicate with very different people, honing their understanding and empathetic skills. Travel destinations usually have distinct traditions from where travelers come from. Therefore, travelers must learn how they can adapt their communication skills to a broader variety of people. For example, Western travelers will need to learn a different, stricter set of social manners when they travel to Japan, and conversely, Japanese locals will also need to understand cultural differences and tolerate people from other countries even if they can't fully carry out Japanese social norms. Travelers will also learn to overcome language barriers, using more diverse kinds of ways to communicate with people, including drawing and body language. Before they return to their homes, travelers will have learned a cornucopia of communicative methods.

Admittedly, developing a deep understanding of one's own community also helps people make connections, as they can talk about more profound subjects with people from the same community. However, I believe the interpersonal connection skill comes from communicating with more different people instead of a fixed group of people. Diverse communication incites more innovative thinking and helps people develop empathy, which both become more relevant in today's world of globalization, where opportunities pop up everywhere across the globe. Limiting oneself to communication within a single community will only deepen people's biases and make our world more polarized, just as how both parties of the United States become more extreme due to their lack of mobilization.

In conclusion, traveling grants people more advanced skills of communication because it provides challenges, curiosity, opportunities, and diversity. While people can have heartfelt relationships with those from their own community as well, they can only learn more complex and comprehensive social skills through traveling.