The following memorandum is from the manager of Bagel Mania Bakery Recently Bagel Mania replaced sugar with saccharin a sugar substitute throughout its bakeries in the Northeast areas of the USA Contrary to initial expectations this change did not have an

The memorandum from Bagel Mania Bakery suggests that since only 10% of their customers complain about their recent replacement of sugar by saccharin in its bakeries in Northeastern USA, indicating that 90 out of 100 of their customers feel satisfied with the change, the manager of Bagel Mania Bakery decides to expand the sugar substitute to all of its bakeries in the entire country. Although the suggestion seems plausible, there are various issues with it because the bakery bases its decisions entirely on the majority of their customers while totally ignoring the 10% of people who are also valuable, individual customers. Moreover, there are also issues with their collection of data.

The bakery's collection of data suggests that as long as their customers do not "grumble about this change", then there is nothing wrong with substituting sugar with saccharine. Such an assumption is peremptory, as it avoids important questions in the customer survey and ignores potential customer psychology to shun from expressing their odium. The collection of data is biased since it only asks the customers whether they want to complain about the change, but fails to collect customers' opinions about whether they truly enjoy the sugar substitute and whether they have better suggestions for the change. Some customers may have better alternatives of sugar that they prefer, and some may not hate the sugar substitute so much as to hate it, but are also dissatisfied with it. What's more, many customers may not grumble about the change due to a psychological phenomenon called pluralistic ignorance. Customers do not know what other customers may respond when they are filling out the customer survey, and they fear that they opposing opinion may be put on the spot. Therefore, most customers would avoid standing out and voicing out their objection toward the decision. That's why the data from the bakery's customer service may underestimate the number of customers who don't feel completely comfortable with the change of sugar.

Moreover, the bakery claims that with a data of only 10% customers grumbling about the change, 90 out of 100 of their customers have no issues with the sugar substitute. However, such a conclusion is erroneous, since the statistics cannot applied to scale in the reality. If there are 10% of the customers who express their disagreement with the change, it only indicates that nine-tenths of the total customers the bakery was able to investigate felt no issues with the change. The same cannot be applied to any random selection of 100 customers of the bakery, especially to those who haven't been investigated at all. Therefore, apart from the potential errors already underlying the question design of the customer survey mentioned in the last paragraph, the manager of the bakery also needs to be more cautious when they make the conclusion that any 90 out of their 100 customers will have no issues with the change of sugar.

Finally, the manager suggests that with only a small number of people opposing the change, the bakery can successfully spread the change to other of its stores in the country. However, such a conclusion completely ignores some of the customers' benefits, despite the number being relatively smaller than that of those who don't object the change. Although customers who grumble about the change may seem few according to the statistics, in reality, each of them is a valuable customer to the bakery. Ignoring their individual needs may cause them to feel betrayed to the least, let alone complaining about the bakery online and harming its reputation in the country. Also, according to the previous two points that I have substantiated, it is likely that the number of customers who feel dissatisfied about the change may be bigger than what the survey turns out. Therefore, without considering the individual customers' needs, the bakery will hardly succeed in spreading its change to all of its stores in the country.

As a company that offers service as its goods, the bakery should consider thoughtfully about every one of its customers. Despite its customer survey suggesting that only 10% of its customers complain about the sugar change, the data may be erroneously low, and its decision to spread this change even to more of its stories is highly risky. Therefore, the bakery needs to revise its customer survey and reconsiders its decision to expand the change.