The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that Grove College should continue to admit only female students, rather that adding new male students, and opposing the favour of co-education. The President arrives to this conclusion as part of some survey results done on students and alumnae. However, there are three unstated assumption which needs evidence, without which the conclusion of the argument remains weakened.

Firstly, the argument assumes that in the survey conducted on the students, where 80 percent of the students supported all female model, the author fails to provide evidence about the number and variety of students considered in the survey. It might be possible that the “80 percent” students were of the same class and hence the result is highly partial. Even if there are mixture of students from various sections, a possibility that only the students who were a supporter of feminism, took part in the survey. If the above points stay unanswered by the author, they undermine the assumption that “80 percent” of the student responded in against of coeducation in the survey.

Secondly, another assumption is made when the author states that over half of the alumnae voted in favour of school remaining to be all female. Although the survey results informed that majority of the alumni who participated in the survey voted against co-education, the author fails to provide evidence about the number of alumnae participating in the survey. The results could have been different in case if all the alumni, from oldest batches to the newest ones, took part in the survey. As the arguments stands now, without the information about people participating in the survey, is flawed.

Finally, the author assumes that continuing with the all-female school will convince the alumnae to support the school financially. It might be the case that even if the school admits male students, the alumnae would still support their school as part of their love and affection. Furthermore, admitting male students can possibly increase the financial support that the school will receive once those male students also pass out and contribute to the alumni group of Grove college. Hence, admission of male students can possibly might not affect, or even improve, the financial help that the college receives from their alumnae.