The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A report from the newsletter section of the West Meria Public Health Council claims that, to prevent absenteeism form workplaces, people should use a nutritional supplement called 'Ichthaid' regularly, which can be found in fish, as it helps to prevent cold. The author has come to this conclusion based on the unwarranted assumptions from a vague study that reports that, people of East Meria who consume more fish and tend to get less affected by cold. However, this assumption is flawed for numerous reasons.

To begin with, the assumptions fails to provide any justification that the city of East Maria and West Meria are similar in terms of their respective weather. For instance, the weather of East maria could be warmer and more healthier. Therefore, people living on that city may be less susceptible to cold and other cold related diseases. To draw an illustration, people living in East Asia are less vulnerable to cold related diseases as the weather is warmer comparing to the Western countries, where it is necessary to take flu shots before winter. Therefore, it is very unlikely that food habits plays an important role in this regard.

Secondly, the author also leaves many other unanswered questions. For instance, the study does not provide any information about the life style of the people. The people living nearby East Meria may be more conscious about their health than the individuals living in West Meria. They may spend most of their leisure time in gym doing physical exercise which is key to keep the body fit and sound. On the other hand population of West Meria may not be interested in exercise and hence they are more vulnerable to diseases, and it could be a major cause of getting cold.

Finally, the author does not take any environmental issue into his account. For instance, the West Meria could be located in a hazardous place while East Meria could be more green and fresh. The environment plays an important role to the public health. Hence, if the environment of West Meria is not improved, then it's population may still be vulnerable to cold, even after consuming more fish.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed for several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to more information about the above issues and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic study), then it may strengthen the argument.