The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that consumption of fish oil supplement will prevent cold and will reduce the amount of school and work absenteeism in West Meria, this author’s argument does not make a cogent case because these two factors might not be related. It is easy to understand that a study report from doctor offices with low number of cold treatment visits and high consumption of fish among those visitors in East Meria might give us reliable results, but the author needs verifiable evidences to prove his/her claim.

First of all, the author mentions that doctor visits for cold treatment in East Meria are only twice a year because of high eating of fish in this area; however, the author does not mention about other factors that can boost our immune system against cold. For example, exercise and consuming fresh fruits and vegetable will bring minerals and vitamins to human body which can make our bodies strong to beat cold.

Additionally, the author does not mention about similarities and differences between East and West Meria. East Meria might have warmer weather or less air pollution, which can naturally, brings the number of cold cases lower than West Meria. When people live in healthy environment, they get less sick. To strengthen his/her argument, the author needs to compare weather condition between these two regions because it can make expected result that is more logical.

Last but not least, the author does not know if cold is the most reason of school and work absentees or not. There are other factors that students or employees take absences. For example, students who will not finish their homework on time might not want to go to school for those days. Or employees who have personal reasons like family issues or even trip plans might use their sick days.

The author can make his/her recommendation persuasive when he/she gathers information about other factors than fish consumption which can prevent getting cold, similarities and differences between two regions, and also prove of if the cold is the most reason of work and school absentees or not. After answering these questions, the author can make such a conclusion.