The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The stated argument claims that the less the less attendance at the movies produced by the Super Screen movie production company are due to the audiences' lack of knowledge about good movies. This assertion is based upon a report from the marketting department that apparently suggests so. But over-emphasis on the report's exact findings and due to absence of futher analysis, forming this report as the base for the conclusion makes this argument indefensible.

The report from the Marketting Deparment states that the attendance at the Super Screen movies was lesser in the previous year as compared to the years prior to that

Now the margin of this difference in the number of attendants is not mentioned. It might have been the case that in the years prior to the previous ones, the attendance was just slightly more that that in the previous year itself. Thus regardless of the year in concern, the shows for the movies produced by Super Screen depicted a lesser attendance as compared to the movies produced by other companies. Thus the people's knowledge about movies cannot be called into question.

In spite of having a decline in viewership, the super screen movies had shown an increase in the percentage of positive reviews for the movies. This might simply be due to decline in the number of people attending the show. Also, the quality of movies cannot be judged solely on the public reviews. The reviews by film critics also matter a lot. The viewers might have given such positive reviews just to evade the reasoning that one needs to provide in case of a negative review. Even in many of us blindly provide best reviews to other services such as a product from Amazon, our ride in Uber etc. Thus such reviews hardly matter.

Super screen aims that to make the content of these reviews to reach to the prospective viewers of their films. But, as previously stated, no one nowadays relies on the reviews to decide his/her preferences for movies. Also, it may be possible that people find such reviews to be fairly depictive of the quality of Super Screen movies but the genre of films produced by them might not be much of a liking for the masses. Certain viewers have a fixed choice of preferences for the movies they want to watch and some might watch each one of the movies being released. This renders the users' taste of the movies to be highly unpredictable.

Pertaining to the data presented by the reports of the marketting department, the Super Screen company plans to allocate a greater share of its budget next year to advertising. This strategy is solely based upon the goal to make people aware of the positive reviews that the movies have recieved. But as previously stated this sounds seemingly vague as stated in the previous paragraphs.

Thus due to a significant number of loopholes and irrevelant dependencies on the outcomes of the report, the Super Screen movie productions arrive to an inaccurate conclusion. They might consider a more relatable set of data and take into action some other strategies.