PEOPLE’S BEHAVIOR IS LARGELY DEFINED BY FORCES NOT OF THEIR OWN MAKING

Universally, ‘Behaviour’ is the only feature that creates an impression of the person that lasts forever on the observer’s mind. So, is behaviour of a person solely defined by the forces that influence the person? Does the person himself not contribute to his own behaviour? Well, this theory sounds logical to me to a large extent.

Behaviour of the person is something that is not formed in a short period nor it remains unchanged as time passes by. Behaviour of a person is the outcome of a continuous period, right from the person’s birth and as the person learns more and more about the world that he lives in. Each and every external factor that has been a part of the person’s life has contributed significantly to that person’s behaviour. These factors include everything starting from the parenting environment in the childhood, the kind of space that one shares with friends, the school and college life etc. and this is a never terminating list of phases.

For each and every Indian citizen, the image one has in his/her mind of a parliamentary meeting comprises of the members of the parliament shouting and yelling at each other with absolute disregard to the decorum that has to maintained. Now, can we say that each and every member of parliament has such an harsh behaviour, no matter where they are? Well, frankly we cannot. It is the tempo of that place that has been going on since generations that causes them to create such an havoc. It might be possible that some of them have drastically opposite behaviour in the world outside. It is not their own choice to present such an image of themselves.

Autism is a psychological disorder that can be found among many adults and even children. Even if we are completely unaware of the effects of this ailment, on seeing an autistic child we can clearly observe something unusual in their behaviour. They do not portray a happy and sanguine image like any other normal child. Such children have a highly vacillating mood and are capricious especially when they are among a lot of people that are not known to them. To any person who does not know them, may found their abnormal behaviour to be highly annoying and may tag them as ill-mannered or not well=behaved. Is this the fault of that child? Has he attracted such an ill-fate for himself? Definitely not. Their ailment causes them to do so. No one has got control over such a force.

School children are well behaved in case their teacher is present in the class. They are compelled to be sitting in an attentive manner, not to be talkative and have their entire concentration in the class. In this case also, the strictness of the teacher and the decorum that has to be maintained in the classroom causes them to behave in such a manner. Once there is no one to watch them, the same children create an havoc. We all have experienced this in our schooldays.

Consequently it can be concluded that the behaviour that a person portrays depends upon the external forces that the person is a part of. This behaviour may be completely opposite at two different environments, where the guiding forces are different. Even siblings raised under the same roof, by the same parents have drastically different behaviours. It is a part of one’s conscience.