The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

A leader is considered as the face of any organization or team. The team follows the footsteps of its leader. So, it is in the hands of the leaders to choose what values they instill in the team members. Success comes only in a healthy environment where everyone feels welcome. So, I agree with the view of preparing young leaders by incorporating a sense of cooperation from childhood.

There are numerous examples in which leaders become successful in their tenure, not only due to their competence but also by knowing how to make their employees or followers work whole-heartedly for the same cause. Let us take the example of a sports team. In this case, consider the Indian cricket team; and its leader Virat Kohli. He is himself rated as one of the best players currently in the world. But, he never considers himself above the team. He always talks about the importance of partnership and selflessness in players. These qualities can be achieved only when a leader doesn't always flaunt his superiority over others but instead provides room for constructive criticism and reasoning; even when the criticism is directed towards him.

The purpose of this example is to reiterate the fact that any organization or team becomes successful when it's leader encourages ideas and suggestions from all sources.

Let us consider another example of Google, a software giant. The CEO of google can work for further betterment of the company, only when he manages to gain true respect and admiration from his employees. The environment which the head of the company creates should be in such a way that all employees should be willing to come forward to give their suggestions. If the boss doesn't listen to his employees, they start losing interest and it engenders the downfall of the company.

There are also other cases and examples which can contradict the above-mentioned statements. From scientific discoveries, it is proven that only the fittest among the lot survive. So, to stand out from the rest, one needs to be competitive. But, the competition should be a healthy one. If the circumstance demands them to be competitive, then let it be; But it shouldn't come at the cost of morals and principles.

So, finally, leaders of any team or organization should always cooperate with their team members to achieve their collective goal.