"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company, the director concludes that for the contents of the company to reach more prospective viewers, the company should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. He based his conclusion on the fact that the problem of the company lies not with the quality of movies produced but in the lack of public awareness of the available 'good' quality movies. However, for the director's conclusion to be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First, will the budget for next year be enough to cover for the advertising expenses? The director assumes that the budget can take care of the advertising bills. This may not be the case as there may already be other pressing and exigent needs of the company already and hence need for input for o. It is also possible that during the year, other unexpected expenses may crop up and will require more than 50% of the total budget to cater for them. If either of the above scenarios is true, then the director's conclusion is not viable.

Furthermore, what type of advertisement is the director planning to use and how effective will the method be? The director did not state clearly the method of advertisement to be made use of. He needs to explain the method of advertisement to be put in place. He also needs to provide evidence to show the efficacy of the method to be employed. If the director can answer the above question and provide evidence in form of scientific analysis to back up his claim, then his original argument will be significantly strengthened.

Finally, even if the budget is solvent enough to cover for advertisement cost, and advertisement is a good way of reaching the prospective viewers, the director needs to answer if the increase in public awareness will ultimately yield increase in attendance to the company's movie. This may not be the case as viewers might have been bought away to be a new television station that has just moved to the location. If the director can answer for sure that the viewers will return then his argument is further strengthened.

In conclusion, although the director's conclusion on reaching more prospective viewer may be true, it is based on several unfounded assumptions that weaken the persuasive of his argument. The director needs to answer the above three questions for his argument to be properly evaluated.