The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

This memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company concludes that the reduction in the number of viewers of the movie produced by Super Screen is due to less advertising of the movies, and thus, they should spare more money for advertising from next year. The arguments presented by the advertising director to support this suggestion are questionable.

He begins with the statement that a lesser number of people watched their movies in the past year than in any year. The reason behind this decrement is not brought into the discussion, and perhaps finding out 'why the views of their movies have decreased?' would influence the reliability of his recommendation.

While stating that the viewership has gone down, he mentions that the percentage of good reviews has increased. If the proportion of positive reviews is increasing despite the lesser number of people watching their movies, it is very much possible that people have become familiar with the deteriorating quality of their movies and stopped attending their movies. The fall in the number is viewers are the ones who contributed to bad reviews earlier.

He also assumes that there is a lack of awareness of the movie without any reasonable argument that supports this hypothesis. Thus, the given information cannot be interpreted to mean that increasing the advertisements would bring more people to watch the movies produced by Super Screen.

It can be concluded that the writer has failed to make a convincing point due to the lack of analysis and proper reasoning.