The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie

Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year.

And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available.

Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising,

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, in his memo concludes that the reason for fewer attendance to the movies that the company has produced lies in the public's lack of awareness about the good quality movies that they are producing and not with the quality of the said movies. He thus recommends that allcating a greater share of the company's budget in advertising would fix the problem and gain the audience's attention back. He has based his argument on the evidence stating that even though the percentage of positive reviews for some of the movies has increased in the past year, fewer people attended these movies last year than any other previous year. However, his argument and the following recommendation is based on a few assumptions and three vital questions will be needed to answer in order to correctly evaluate them.

Firstly, are the movie reviewers whose opinion is being taken into consideration can be categorized as reputable and reliable source of reviews? In other words, are they capable of expressing the general public opinion on the movie through their reviews and not just their personal point of view? For example, it can be possible that the majority of reviewers are fledgelings in this field and not mature enough yet to be able to express the wide public opinion. It is also possible that these reviewers are letting emotions or personal prejudice bias their review. If either of the above is true, then it would belie the public reaction of the movie and thus making the director's argument that the quality of movies is not an issue a wak one.

Further, it is mentioned that these reviews are positive for "specific" Super Screen movies. A question that needs to be answered arises that what percentage of all the movies does these specific movies make up? And wether these specific movies produced by the company correctly represents the overall quality of all the movies produced by them? For instance, it is possible that only four out of fifteen various movies produced by the company in the last year was reviewed positively. If this happens to be true, it would not represent the overall quality of all the movies and the author's argument would not hold water.

Lastly, even if we consider that the author's argument of movies not reaching out to the public is a correct one, it is needed to be found out that wether the budget already allocated to advertising is being used properly and efficiently? It is possible that the budget as it is now is already sufficient for advertising but is instead not utilized correctly. If this happens to be true, director's recommendation for increasing the budget would not be an efficient one.

Thus to conclude, the argument and the recommendation as it stands right now, is a weak one. The above questions would be required to answer, perhaps in the form of detailed reports reflecting true information in order to evaluate the director's recommendation properly.