The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any ot

The advertising director of the super screen movie production company states that the main reason behind less people attending their movies last year is poor adverstising. However I find his argument to be highly flawed for various reasons as discussed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, without any strong evidence, the adverstising director cannot just claim that poor advertising is the only reason behind a low footfall for Super Screen produced movies. There could be many other reasons for people not showing up. Maybe the genres of movies that they produced during the past year failed to win the attention of a larger group of people. They might not be everyone's type of movies and hence only the interested people came out to watch them. Hence the company should analyse on this and make a list of genres that are being liked by masses these days. They should then produce movies as per their study. Instead of simpling putting up all the blame on adverstising, they should retrospect if their could have been any other factors that would have cause a lower footfall and work on improving them.

Secondly, the advertising director fails to consider any statistics around advertising over the past few years to jump to his conclusion. How has the budget allocated to advertising changed over the past few years and what have their implications been like? The answer to this question would help us conclude if allocating more budget to advertising would indeed increase the footfall to the movies. Also, it is obviously not fair to put it all on adverstising only on the basis of data from the last year. One year is a very short time to get a legit pattern and hence a substantial amount of data should be studied before taking any actions.

Moving on, the advertising director tremendously relies on the increased percentage of positive reviews that the Super Screen movies have recieved in the past year. He says that this information concluded that the movies being made are of good quality and it is only due to lack of awareness that less people came to know about them. Since there is no evidence of authenticity of these reviews, how can one be so sure of them. What if these reviews are all paid and not genuine? We are all aware that buying good reviews onlines is no big deal these days. So, it is very naive to be trusting these reviews blindly and making a conclusion based on them. What if the Super Screen movies are actually not good and that's the reason behind people skipping them? Hence, the authenticilty of these reviews should be taken into account before concluding that advertising is the problem here.

Finally, even if we ignore the above arguements and believe the reasons given by the advertising director to be true what is the probablity that increasing the budget for advertising will solve their problem on a larger level? There might be some places where it might not be possible to advertise for their films, for instance smaller cities or villages or some foreign country. How will Super Screen Movie Production Company make people aware of their movies there? Before putting all their eggs in the advertisement basket, the company should consider if there are other ways of increasing the popularity of their movies and then divide the budget accordingly for maximum profit.