The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

To base the success of a business on a plan centered on only advertisement is parochial and ridiculous. The business plan of introducing a new line of coffee and its ascendancy through intense advertisements lack completeness. Not to demean the role of advertisements in sales increase, the success of a business is more dependent on value propositions to intended stakeholders.

The author assumed that the taste of the new line of coffee would be palatable to all intended consumers and imploring them to purchase the coffee through advertisements with a certainty of more sales delineated an invalidated conclusion of everyone finding the taste pleasing and would undoubtedly crave for more. A well established survey on the type of taste of artisan coffee is being demanded by the consumer with a set goal of creating a better and lasting taste will guarantee more sales than mere advertisements. An uncompelling taste with great publicity will only give space for myriads of derogatory statements which will plummet the sales of any product.

The author also assumed that intended consumers would be able to afford the new line of coffee. What if the increased demands for artisan coffee are desired at a lower cost than the current ones in the market today. Apex corporation believes that people would be willing to pay for the new line of coffee because of their increased demands. Affordability is key to generating more sales. In a world where societal economy is not certain, people cannot be certainly assumed to be willing to spend large sums of money on coffee which may seems extravagant to a large chunk of the population living a frugal life.

The author assumed that their advertisement strategies would be the best with a total disregard for competitors that may respond with more intense advertisements. Even if the advertisement of Apex Corporation is so strong as to be overshadowed, a huge competitor can also generate an impression in consumers' mind to be tried out which then leave consumers with adjudication based on other factors like tastes and affordability as earlier mentioned. The business plan of Apex Corporation for their new line of coffee fails to put into consideration which have a great tendency of affecting their sales.

It is however pertinent to state that great tastes and affordability without profound awareness, sensitization or advertisement is synonyms to not blowing your trumpets for greater success. Afterall, people will not identify an hidden talents if not displayed which can be related to nice products too. But, a total base of the success of a product to be a top selling one solely through advertisements is rife and unfounded.