The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

The passage talks about the launch of a new line of artisan coffee by Alex corporation. They have drawn up an advertisement plan that includes word of mouth as well as radio and TV ads to sell this coffee. This argument hinges on various unstated assumptions, the veracity of which must be explored in order to solidify the argument.

Firstly the company is believing that artisan coffee is in demand. No survey has been cited in regard to the popularity of this new type of coffee. It is possible that the coffee has just been hyped up by a handful of people and a majority of people in fact dislike it. The first part of the advertising plan hinges on the fact that people who buy and try the coffee will recommend it to their family and friends. There is no contingency plan in case this doesn't work out as intended and it could lead to the diabolical failure of the second part of the plan as well.

Secondly, the company plans to use TV and radio advertisements after the popularity has been spread through word-of-mouth. However, it hasn't been justified why this particular way will work. It’s highly possible that simultaneous TV, and radio advertisements as well as word-of-mouth will lead to a far greater reach of the brand and the product. Adding to this, the company plans to release the brand to several major chain restaurants. However, this is based on two unstated assumptions. One is that these restaurants haven't already started using their product in which case the plan will fail. Secondly, there is a chance that the company will altogether refuse to use its brand of coffee as they have already given its allegiance to some other company or type of coffee.

Finally, this entire strategy is based on a crucial assumption that they will have a monopoly of artisan coffee in the market. However, there is a strong chance that if the initial advertisement plan of Alex corporation succeeds and a large population starts consuming artisan coffee, the other bigger companies shift their machines to produce artisan coffee at a much lower price rate than Alex Corporation. This could lead to the bigger company selling it at a lower price rate and undercutting Alex Corporation. Another problem that could arise is that the mass population is loyal to one or another brand of coffee and seeing that company they like is producing artisan coffee will lead to customers shifting back to them. This will neutralize all that the first round of advertisement was intended to do and subsequently the second part of the plan is bound to fail.

To conclude, the strategy that Alex Corporation plans to use for advertisement seems wise and implementable. However, the market situation hasn't been studied properly and the plan hinges on a lot of variables that are outside the control of Alex Corporation. Without accessing all the data, the validity of the argument cannot be established and therefore the success of this system of advertisement cannot be guaranteed.