The following was written as a part of an application for a small business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

“A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, our proposed club, the C Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe’s jazz festival last summer, several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is ‘Jazz Nightly,’ which airs every weeknight. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. It is clear that the C Note cannot help but make money.”

According to the application, the author concludes that their new jazz music club, opening in the city of Monroe, will be a profitable endeavor. The author comes to this conclusion based on jazz’s presumed popularity in the city as well as a recent nationwide survey on typical fan’s expenditure on jazz entertainment. While the author’s assertion could prove true, there are three questions that needs to be addressed.

First of all, the author assumes that 100,000 is a huge number and this number comprise the big portion of the population of Monroe. Perhaps Monroe is a highly dense city and this number is less than 1 percent of the total population of the Monroe. It might be possible that these people who attended Monroe’s Jazz festival actually came there just to hang out. If it is true that the number presented is not significant as compared to the Monroe’s total population, then the author’s prediction is greatly weakened.

Second of all, the author assumes that owing homes by some of the Jazz musicians in Monroe city will actually increase the popularity of Jazz music in Monroe. Perhaps the jazz musician who own home in Monroe live in their home which is located at some other expensive city. It might be possible that, even if they actually live in the home situated in Monroe, these musicians might be so busy that they rarely come home for staying. If it is true that the owing home in Monroe doesn’t increase the popularity of Jazz music in the city, then the author’s anticipation is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the author may be correct in predicting that the their new jazz music club in Monroe will be lucrative business. However, as it stands now, the prediction rest on three unwarranted assumptions that dramatically hinder its validity. If the author would like to increase the persuasiveness of his conclusion, he needs to answer the three questions above.