Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument is flawed for a number of reasons. Primarily the author states that the overall student grade averages have risen due to the professor evaluation system that was introduced fifteen years ago. Although the argument seems logical at first, the vagueness and the many assumptions made renders the argument to be misleading.

Not much light is shed upon the professor evaluation system which the author claims is the source of all evil. The nature of questions asked in the evaluation is not mentioned and is left to our imagination. The author also fails to mention the action taken on the teachers by the university administration based on the result of the evaluation.

The author states that the professor evaluation process that was implemented fifteen years ago is the main reason the student grade averages have risen by 30 percent which is very vague. Over the course of fifteen years, the quality of education may have improved drastically which could have resulted in the increase in student grade average. Better infrastructure and faculty have attracted brighter students is a plausible explanation for the increase in student grade average.

The author mentions that potential employers believe that the grade average at Omega University is inflated and do not accurately represent the achievements of the students due to which these potential employers do not prefer to recruit at Omega University. The sources of these arguments are not mentioned in the passage. Also, the comparison between Omega and Alpha Universities does not seem right since Alpha University could offer industry-oriented programs while Omega University could offer research-oriented programs.

In conclusion, the author fails to give any real evidence to convince the administration of Omega University to terminate teacher evaluation process.