The following was written as part of a study weighing the benefits of a new construction project in the city of Winterville.

Car racing is extremely popular in the city of Winterville: over 20,000 Winterville residents attended the state’s annual 500-lap race last summer, and the highest-rated television program in Winterville is “Race Talk,” which is broadcast every night. Also, many successful race-car drivers live in Winterville. However, the nearest racetrack is over 150 miles away from Winterville. Given the popularity of car racing in Winterville, and a recent report indicating that the average race fan spends close to $500 per year attending car races, a new racetrack in Winterville would be very profitable.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that car racing is extremely popular in the city of Winterville, rendering its main conclusion that, construction of a racetrack in Winterville would be very profitable, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that over 20,000 Winterville residents attended annual race last summer as such car racing is extremely popular. The argument never gives information about the city population. 20,000 residents could either be average, far above average or far below average of the city’s population; the argument never tells.

The argument also leaves many unanswered questions. Many successful race-car drivers live in Winterville. The argument could do something as simple yet effective as providing information through consultation of the town Librarian to review published study to show whether a parallel exist between large number of successful race-car residents in Winterville and interest of other residents in car racing.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that new racetrack in Winterville would be very profitable since average race fan spends close to $500 per year to attend car race. Here again, research is a vital ally: Will the residents pay $500 per year to attend same event even if the racetrack is built in Winterville? Is the event going to be a commonplace after the construction hence lack of interest? Answering question like these may help to clarify if the racetrack will be profitable after the construction or not.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that car racing is extremely popular in the city of Winterville hence a new racetrack in Winterville would be very profitable.