The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumptions that recent report from indicates that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies during the past year than in any other year, rendering its main conclusion that in order to have more people attend their movies Super Screen should allocate large budget next year to reaching the public through advertising, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies during the past year than in any other year. The memo never gives the number of people who attended the movies in the past year and in any other year. Even if the argument provides the information, it is still lacking because the number of times Super Screen-produced movies is made available for viewing also play a vital role in determining the number of viewers.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. The percentage of positive reviews increased during the past year but the memo never cites any evidence to support this claim. The director could do something as simple yet effective as consulting a town librarian to review published study to show whether a parallel exists between reduced number of movies reviewers and increased positive reviews. The director could also hire an independent research firm to determine whether a correlation exists between increased number of movie viewers and reduced positive reviews.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that the public's lack of awareness about availability of high quality movie is the main problem for inadequate positive contents reviews from viewers. Here again, research is a vital ally in the director case: Did all reviewers attend the movie? is the company's mode of accessing positive reviews too strict? Answering questions like these may help to clarify a solution to the Company problem.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that since recent report indicates that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies during the past year than in any other year then Super Screen should allocate large budget next year to reaching the public through advertising so more people can attend their movie.