A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendations would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

The national curriculum has today been instituted by several nations, as a means to centralize and harmonize learning amongst the young generation. These curriculum are designed by education experts appointed by the government, signed into law by the legislature and effected by the government, for all educational sectors and institutions across board within the nation.

Centralizing knowledge and the system of passing knowledge across to younger generations has over the years proven to be effective, in helping the nation grow as one; the recipients - students and pupi;s alike - are given a level playing ground to learn, relearn and thrive academically and otherwise. The same national curriculum would thus encourage healthy competition amongst students in different schools and states within the nation. Furthermore, this would reduce or remove disparity between the government-owned public schools and the privately-owned ones, which is a seeming comparison between the middle- and lower-class students and the upper-class students respectively, as they would all be learning from one and the same curriculum. This system is most effective in military training, national security advisory and such special trainings, as this would ensure all attendees gain maximum benefit for such training.

This notwithstanding, there exists some flaws to this system. Firstly, creativity amongst students would be minimal, as the national curriculum could become a hindrance to them. This is because, it is essential for a child - right from a very age - to make choices on what he or she needs or wants. As such imposing a national curriculum on children and students with different abilities, capabilities and comprehension power, would be a great disadvantage to many - especially those with one special condition or another - who require special attention to learn. Surely, a perfectly healthy child would not process information at the same rate as another with dyslexia. Obviously, their learning capabilities are not the same, as such they should be afforded equal opportunities to make choices, and be creative as regards their learning methods. Thus, this system of one and the same national curriculum would only result in unhealthy competition amongst children who were not even born equally. Thus, children should be provided a plethora of opportunities while they are young, from which they will make choices on what they want to learn and consequently, specially-designed curriculum should be made to support the child's decision and see him or her grow to achieving their goals. In conclusion, I recommend that, the strengths of such students and children be identified, strengthen and exploited for maximum benefit to everyone and the nation at large.