growth of town

“The author concludes that the positive growth in Freedonia’s commercial airline industry will continue for years to come. The evidence is that incomes, vacation time, and interest in travel are all on the rise. While this argument may seem tenable at first glance, the conclusion relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence.

First, the writer assumes that the favorable economic conditions in Freedonia will continue. It is entirely possible that they will not, and that employees will have neither the money nor the vacation time necessary to pay for expensive foreign vacations. Suppose, for example, that incomes do not continue to rise. People would not have the money to spend on expensive vacations. Also, people may choose to spend their money on other luxuries besides travel. Airline industry analysts should ask whether economic factors are likely to stay positive.

Secondly, do we really know that the citizens of Freedonia will want to spend their money on vacations? Also, how do we know they will want to visit places that necessitate air travel? True, there is more media attention on foreign cultures and tourist attractions, but the argument would be stronger if the author provided evidence of a direct relationship between this media content and a desire to spend disposable income and vacation time traveling. The author does not explain where this interest comes from. Also, even if people are interested, it does not necessarily follow that they will be either willing or able to indulge that interest with extravagant holidays, since there could be an economic downturn.

Furthermore, the writer does not explain what relation, if any, these economic conditions have to the airline industry. What if the changes in Freedonian society that have led to higher incomes and more vacation time do not help the airline industry? Perhaps the economic changes are the result “of protective tariffs and trade policies that make it harder for Freedonians to conduct business internationally. Perhaps the government is limiting imports and exports. Or maybe all the airports are as big as cities will allow them to be, so airlines can have no more planes. We need this information because if these possibilities could shrink the growth of the airline industry.

If the writer has made wrong assumptions regarding Freedonian society, the prospects of the commercial airline industry in Freedonia are less rosy. It would mean that there will be less income and less interest in foreign travel.