decline in sales

The marketing director of Lamfonz Pet Stores proposes that the company should implement marketing strategies used by a competitor to boost sales. While this may be a viable solution, the director's argument is based on several assumptions that require evidence and logical reasoning to be convincing.

Firstly, the director suggests that placing advertisements in pet magazines will help reverse the decline in sales. However, it is unclear whether the company or its products are already well-known to potential customers. The director assumes that the lack of advertising is the only reason for the decline in sales, which may not be true. For instance, the company's prices may be higher than those of competitors, or customers may have lost trust in the company's customer service. Therefore, the director needs to provide evidence that the decline is solely due to a lack of advertising and that other factors are not contributing to the decrease in sales.

Secondly, the director's argument assumes that advertising in magazines will automatically increase sales. However, if a company is experiencing a decline in sales, it is difficult to attract new customers. Even if advertisements are placed in magazines, there is no guarantee that potential customers will choose the advertised company over their preferred stores. Therefore, the director needs to provide evidence that potential customers are unaware of the company's products and services, and that advertising in magazines is the best way to reach them.

Thirdly, the director suggests that the company should advertise in magazines other than those used by the successful competitor. However, the effectiveness of different magazines varies, and not all magazines will have the same impact. The director needs to provide evidence that the other magazines being considered have the same outreach and impact as the one used by the competitor.

In conclusion, while the director's suggestion to use marketing techniques employed by a competitor may be a valid solution to declining sales, the argument relies on unsupported assumptions. To make a convincing case, the director needs to provide evidence that the decline is solely due to a lack of advertising, that advertising in magazines is the best way to reach potential customers, and that the other magazines being considered have the same impact as the one used by the competitor.