Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

At first blush, the prompt seems to present a logical connection between the seriousness of skating accidents and the presence - or lack of - protective gear. The argument suggests that roller skaters who have protective clothing or who invest in light reflecting equipment sustain less severe injuries compared to their counterparts who don’t. In order to verify whether investing in protective gear is indeed the best way to reduce roller skating accidents however, there are a few assumptions that have to be examined in more detail. This includes assessing to what extent serious injuries are caused by lack of protective gear, and how generalizable this finding is to the population, as a whole. Finally, it will also be important to assess what the author of the argument means by “high quality” gear and how “severe injuries” are assessed. This will affect whether the argument can be fact-checked and verified.

The first assumption that has to be addressed is whether or not there is a correlation between serious injuries and a lack of protective gear. In other words, it is important to verify whether investing in personal protective equipment significantly reduces the seriousness of injury. On conducting a more thorough examination of this case, one may simply conclude that the other 25% of people may have not sustained serious injuries because they were more cautious, and had not been skating as fast or as dangerously as their unprotected counterparts. It may be this caution that drove the results seen above. It is important to test for and parse out whether protective clothing is indeed the driver of less serious injuries, versus a more important factor. Otherwise, investing in greater protective equipment may simply result in extra costs that do not produce the benefits of reduced roller skaters among hospital emergency room cohorts.

In addition, even if we control for other causative factors and determine that protective equipment indeed is responsible for less serious injuries, we have to then evaluate whether this finding is generalizable to the hospital emergency room population, as a whole. We may ask, example, whether this sample is representative of the general population? Are different demographic profiles represented? For example, the population in the sample quoted in the argument may disproportionately have been younger, more aggressive skaters, who have not had much skating experience. An analysis of the general population may include more experienced skaters, careful skaters who may be less likely to be involved in an accident. This different demographic changes to what extent protective gear lessens the impact of skating injuries

Finally, it is also important to clarify our metrics in this argument. For example, how would the author of the argument define “severe” injury or “high-quality” protective equipment? If a group of skaters run into an accident, and the experimental group (let’s say the group who have protective gear) stayed in the emergency room an hour less than the control group (the group without protective gear), can we make the claim that the protected skaters experience less averse injuries because of the protective gear that they owned? One may argue that the results are so similar among both groups as to negate the impact of investing in protective equipment. It may be that the cost of such equipment may not be equivalent to the benefits, such as lives saved.

Although the argument seems to make sense at first glance, it is important to question some underlying assumptions. This includes clarifying the metrics we would use to evaluate the claim the protective equipment results in less serious injuries, as well as evaluating whether there is a direct cause and effect between personal protective equipment and the seriousness of injuries.