Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller- skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light- reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

In the argument, the author assumes that roller skaters are aware of the importance of protective equipment and reflective material. The statistics suggest that a majority of the individuals who had accidents were not wearing any protective gear, which indicates that they may not have considered the potential risks involved in roller-skating. If this assumption is not true and roller skaters are already aware of the importance of wearing protective gear, then investing in high-quality equipment may not make a significant difference in reducing accidents.

Another assumption is that high-quality protective gear will be readily available and affordable to all individuals who engage in roller-skating. However, this may not be the case, as some individuals may not have access to or be able to afford such equipment. This implies that the argument's effectiveness in reducing accidents may be limited to individuals who can afford the necessary protective gear.

Additionally, the argument assumes that the root cause of accidents in roller-skating is the lack of protective gear and reflective equipment. However, there may be other factors at play, such as poor road conditions, inadequate lighting, or reckless behavior on the part of the roller skater. If these factors are not addressed, investing in high-quality protective gear may not be sufficient to prevent accidents.

In conclusion, the argument regarding the need for more protective equipment in roller-skating accidents is dependent on various unstated assumptions. These assumptions include the awareness of the importance of protective gear, the accessibility and affordability of such gear, and the root cause of accidents. If these assumptions are unwarranted, the argument's effectiveness in reducing accidents may be limited.