Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7 000 years ago and within 3 000 years most ofthe large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had becomeextinct Y et humans cannot have been a factor in the species extinctions be

The writer of the passage concludes that humans have not been the main cause of large mammals’ extinction in the Kaliko Islands around 3000 years ago. The author’s conclusion is based on several assumptions. Firstly, there is no evidence that shows special contact between humans and the mammals in this site. Second, humans were not the hunter of large mammals because there have been only the bones of fish and no bones of the large mammals have discovered. Therefore, other environmental factors like climate change must have caused the mammal’s extinction. However, the assumptions in the passage are not convincing because of the following reasons.

Firstly, the writer claims that there is no evidence of any special contact between humans and large mammals in that site; therefore, humans could not be the cause of mammal’s extinctions. This assumption is not reasonable. It is possible that the contact between them were indirectly. For instance, humans might find the site a perfect site for living and civilization. As a result, they started to exploit the environmental sources to establish their territories; sources like trees, plants, and so on which were the main food source of large mammals. Therefore, they annihilated the habitat of mammals and maybe other species that caused mammals’ extinction long years after humans’ arrival.

Secondly, the writer provides that only fish bones are found in this site and no bones of large mammals are discovered. This assumption cannot reach us to the conclusion that humans have not played any role in mammals’ extinction. We know that some large mammals like polar bears eat fish and their lives are rely on this kind of marine animals. Fish bones strike this idea to our mind that humans might have been the hunter of fish which mammals needed them to survive. As a result of the significant decline in the amount of fish mammals have begun to extinct.

Lastly, it is assumed that other environmental factors were the main cause of mammals’ extinction. However, as it is clear, humans have caused environmental changes since they started to civilization. For instance, todays, humans cause the global warming which damages the Ozone layer. Global warming also causes the climate change. Therefore, humans have been the main damage for animals and plants and we can assume that the similar situation might occur in that sites around 3000 years ago.

To wrap it up, it is to state that the conclusion made in the argument is unlikely to come true unless the problems mentioned in the body paragraphs above are all address and ironed out. In other words, it is important to collect more evidence to evaluate the assumptions discussed above to decide if the conclusion in the passage is reasonable.