Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In deve

The premise that competition for high grades at all levels of education seriously limits the quality of learning does not always remain true. I can indicate two points; in-depth study and enhancement in the quality of learning materials, the consequences of competition for high grades, enhance the quality of learning.

First of all, competition for high grades causes students to study in-depth. We can define the quality of learning as learning and analyzing the learning materials in-depth and precisely instead of superficially. Therefore, when students compete against each other to get high scores, they put all their efforts to scrutinize the learning materials more and more and ask more questions about each line they read so diligently that they can learn the subject precisely. In this way, the quality of learning increases. For instance, as high grades and being among top three students at the undergraduate level is very important for students to attend a better university for their graduate studying, they try to study their courses in-depth to be able to handle any type of questions and get high scores and be among top students.

Secondly, competition for high scores causes effective changes in learning materials. One aspect of the quality of learning is the syllabuses the teacher plans to teach. When students compete for high grades, they study more and they will be curious about new advanced things. Therefore, if the demand for learning new and advanced subjects increases, the professor has to update the syllabuses and boost the level of the materials. Although some students who do not care about their scores and studying cannot handle the advanced materials the quality of learning will improve for other students. As a personal experience, I took a course last semester, and in that class, some students and I competed against each other to get high scores since it was one of the main and important courses in my field. As we studied hard for getting high scores, we found the materials basic and after a while, we concluded that the syllabus should be updated because its level is lower than our knowledge. Hence, the professor decided to add some advanced and qualified chapters to the syllabus. The professor believed that competition among students caused an improvement in the quality of learning.

In contrast, it is trustworthy to indicate that the competition for high grades can seriously hurt the quality of learning in some levels of education. For instance, children in elementary schools should not deal with competition and grades because they are not familiar with the concept of competition; also, they need a relaxed atmosphere for their training. Hence, competition can hurt the quality of learning in elementary schools.

To wrap up, the competition for high grades in some levels of education like undergraduate or graduate levels not only does not limit the quality of learning but also enhances it. By competition, students tend to study the subject in-depth; also, they demand advanced and new syllabuses. These two points have straight relationships with the quality of learning.