In any profession business politics education government those in power should step down after five years

The premise that people in power in any job should step down after five years does not always remain true. Nonetheless, I believe that people in power should be replaced by others after several years. Two points that come to my mind are inefficiencies and the hope of being in power in the future.

Firstly, in any profession, those in power may show some inefficiencies in their works. If they never replace with others who are more proficient, it would be arduous to eliminate inefficiencies and again boost the whole team; also, the team loses the opportunity of working with professional managers. It is common among managers that act such inefficiently after several years that members of the team have to work without the help of an adept manager. In such a situation, managers should be replaced to reclamation the whole team. For instance, when I was working in a research lab, my manager and his assistant after several months change their manner so that the improvement in efficiency; while it did not work and all projects were faced with the problems. Not only we did not have any opportunity to replace the manager also we were forced to finish projects without any efficient advice.

Secondly, without stepping down the people in power after several years other people cannot have this opportunity to improve in their works; also, they lose their hope of being as a manager in their profession. As a personal example, most students like me who are young wish to be a manager in their field. As all of them start their careers as an intern in companies they will lose their self-confidence and their hopes when they realize that they will never be a manager or a person in power. As a consequence, there would be no passion for improvement in the company due to the fixed positions.

Besides the above points I mentioned, we should emphasize that the replacement of people in power after a short time may not work in any profession. For instance, in government or politics, a president may need more than five years to pursue some plans and finishes them correctly. For instance, in our country, Iran, we had some cases in the past that presidents remained in their positions for around eight years to reach some of their goals. Hence, it needs to consider the importance of a job itself; also, the importance of the number of years for stepping down people in power.

To wrap up, I believe that it is better to step down people in power after several years, five years or more or less because people in power may show inefficiencies and they need to be replaced with adept ones; moreover, other people in that job should have this opportunity to improve and become one of the people in power in the future. However, this is not true for all profession and we should pay attention to the time of the period of the replacement.