“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter submitted to the editor of the local newspaper in Mansontown presents us with an idea and an oppurtunity to reduce the spending on the garbage disposal fees and alternate methods to be implemented to acheive this. The intent and the motivation behind this should be appreciated and lauded but because of lack of proper research, lack of information and not addressing some key aspects the letter does not have adequate weightage to supoort itself. Some of the flaws and questions which are missing are as follows.

Firstly, each and every household in Masontown do not the have currect equiment and knwoledge on how to recycle stuff. A very few percent of people would have the current equipemnt need to perfom recycling in their backyard. IF a law was imposed similar to the one in Hayesworth there is a very high probability that people will just resort to paying the fine rather than investing heavy amount of money into buying equipment and even after paying money to accquire the equipment they would have to do all the recycling work themselves, rather they pay the fine and get done with it would be a very convienent option for them. Therefore instead of imposing laws which were imposed in Hayesworth a new and creative approach should be thought off and implemented which could overcome these flaws.

Secondly, there is no information about the population of Hayesworth, it is very possible that the population of hayesworth is half of Masontown due to which imposing such a law would have been easier and also achieiving such significant cost deduction in such a small amount of town is only points to the fact that the number of people in the town would be less. Moreover, there is no information provided with how Hayeswoth implemented the law what were the statistics involved and how well was this law accepted by the people of Hayeswoth.The lack of such critical information should have been provided in the letter to back its claims. Thereby implementing the same law in our own city would not be feasible. An approach regarding and addressing the needs of a bigger population should be figured out and implemented rather than just implementing what same law.

Moving on, one of the biggest flaw in the letter is that it clamins that just by implementing an advertising campaign it would solve the problem . There is absikutely no information provided on how the campign would take place and the biggest and most important aspect is that where will the money come from to run this campign because to run a successful campign requires a lot of money. Moreover even if somehow investors can be found to fund the campaign.There is no gurantee that it will be a successful one and yield the intended results.

In conclusion, the idea presented in the letter to the editor of the newspaper of Masontown shows positive intent to find techniques to reduce the garbage disposal fees and save some moeny but due to lack of information and key aspects of data not being presented in the letter does not provide sufficient backing to buregon its idea and claims.