A nation should require all its students to the study the same national curriculum until they enter college

People today have the freedom and the ability to decide the smallest of things, for example, according to their mood they can change the color of lighting in their room if they are doing a particular course and they do not like it they have the ability to change their subjects and choose a different path altogether and move in that direction. The point being is that people have become accustomed to deciding the smallest of things, therefore forcing a ubiquitous curriculum for an entire nation and forcing them to follow a set curriculum instead of helping them choose their own path is not the right way. I disagree with the statement.

Firstly, forcing people and giving people no options to choose from is absolutely not the best method of teaching something or setting an example. People should be able to decide for themselves what do they like and accordingly follow it. For example, if the greatest footballer in the world Cristiano Ronaldo was forced to pursue his studies more rather than given the freedom of following his passion i.e. football because of the same national curriculum inforced by his nation, today we the world would not have gotten an opportunity to wittiness the greats of Ronaldo. Therefore, it is very important for each and every one of us to decide our own path rather than rely on a set curriculum.

Secondly, in today's time the world is moving in a direction where the schools are providing a vast pool of subjects from which a student can pick and study any subject of their choice, this points out to the fact that even schools have understood that the only way to bring out the true potential of a child is to make him do what he really likes and the most important thing is that each and every child is different and have different preferences, goals in life. Each student enters college with a different perspective in mind, for example, a student might enter college so that he can get good grades and then apply for a masters degree and there might be another student who has a goal of finishing college and starting his own business as soon as possible. Therefore both these students studying from the same set curriculum is not beneficial for them.

Moving on, the freedom to choose your own subjects is one of the best ways to motivate students to perform well and truly understand the subject in depth. When one persues something that truly interests them it does not feel like they are working which inturn lets them grasp knowledge even more. Whereas forcing them to stick to a set curriculum will remove the interest factor and the student will not even be able to relate to the most basic concepts of the subject. For example, the student who wanted to start his own business would be more interested in accounts in his school days but the set curriculum says that till college each and every student needs to study science this way rather than working for his goal from a very early age he has a setback and forced to study something he is not interested it.

In conclusion, many people might think that if there is a fixed set of rules and fixed curriculum then each and every student has that minimum required knowledge and no student is left back in terms of education, but the bigger picture should be given more importance i.e. as long as a student has his freedom to pursue his own goals he will perform better. The infamous quote "if you make your work your passion, you never need a vacation in your life" the quote is trying to tell us the same thing follow your passion rather then abiding by a mundane set curriculum.