A nation should require all its students to the study the same national curriculum until they enter college

There are several countries where each state of the country has their own educational curriculum. Each state has their own syllabus that differs from the other states. The question is whether independent educational curriculums for each state is beneficial. The recommendation suggests that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. I partially agree with this statement.

Every student needs to learn the basic subjects basic fundamental subjects in school before they choose a field to specialise in, when they enter college. Since every student has to study the same fundamentals then it makes sense to have a national curriculum for all students in a nation. This will make education equal throughout the country. Each student will be taught the same national curriculum and will take the same examinations. This will make it very easy to understand to compare student's performance to one another. For instance, in India, there is a separate educational curriculum for each state. Each state curriculum differs in content, method of teaching and concepts being taught. This causes a few discrepancies. When applying to national colleges, students from states with easier curriculums have higher scores and thus have an advantage. To prevent this, some universities have to scale scores to make it just, while some do not. These differences and disadvantages that arise with different curriculums can be overcome by having the same curriculum for students all over the country.

However, there are some disadvantages to the above recommendation. States in a nation are different from one another in several ways. For example, in a country like India, each state has its own dominant language. If curriculum was to be nationalised, this would cause many state languages to lose importance and eventually stop being spoken. This is where a state curriculum is advantageous. It provides knowledge to students of the state while still preserving each state culture.

Thus, I believe that one cannot just universally decide that each nation must have the same national curriculum. Each nation differs from another. A national curriculum might work for one nation, while failing for another. Thus, each nation must decide what suits their country. If a nation that is small has one predominant language, one culture, then a national education might be suitable. But, in a country as cosmopolitan and large as India, other educational reforms might work.

To conclude, I belive each country must figure out solutions that help in the progress of their students. Fundamentally, each student must be given the same fundamental knowledge to make education equal throughout the country while also including each state's own curriculum in it. Perhaps an integrated system which combines a nationalised curriculum that is same for all with a statewise curriculum that is relevant to each state, might have a better effect on the education system