Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

In todays world doing something for someone has become a very difficult task. Very easily something that was intended to do good for someone can be interpreted in the wrong manner and instead of appreciating the person for trying to do something good they are blamed and looked down upon. I agree with the claim and the reason on which it is based and in my personal opinion the result it what matters.

Firstly, an action should never be judged and conculsions should never be drawn in the rudimentary stages of the action, they shoould give enough time for the action to show some kind of results before one can start scrutinizing the action and start finding flaws in it and thereby looking for a scapegoat to blame everything upon. This is not how the system should work, the action should be given enough time till it can show the planned results and then if it does not show results or at the end if there are more cons than pros one can blame the action rather than apreciating it. For example, a student who always use to be shy and had an introverted nature got really upset at his parents when they signed him up for acting class where he would have to perfrom on the stage in front of a live audience, he was so upset with his parents at first that he did not talk to them for a week and he hated them for this, but little did he know that today the reason he is appointed as the CEO of a company is because the action his parents took to remove his stage fear helped him get this job. The point here being is that the action should not be judged immediately but should be given enough time to show results.

Moving on, if someone performs some kind of an action which results in some kind of a positive results and benefits the people around it and even if the intent of the person performing the action would not have been absolutely justified still more impotance should be given to the outcome of the action rather than the intent of the person because at the end of the day what matters in what did the action yield and not what was the motivation or intent behind the person or group of people performing the action.

Furthermore, at the end of the day result is what makes all the difference and result is what matters more than anything. If an action is perfomed in completery good-will and the action is completely selfless but it does not yield positive results that there is no point of the absolutely selfless act. Therefore more importance should be given to the result than the intention and motive. For example, the goverment is planning on extending the metro line to decrease the number of private vehicles on the road which in turn will reduce the traffic and to do so they would have to cut off a land of trees. The point people our missing out here and protesting about it is that this will have a long term effect, number of cars on the road would decrease drastically therby cutting the citys pollution by half and to compensate for the cutting of trees the government is allocating funds to hold drives every month till the project is completed which in turn will led to plantation of four times the trees than the number of trees which were cut.Therefore the result this action will produce should be given more importance rather than the shortcome results.

In conclusion, what matters is the result and it should be given more priority than the intent/ motive of an action and an action should be give its intended time to run its course and produce its intended results and then if it does not do so or if the negative aspects of the action are more than the positive gains of it then the action should be looked down upon and deemed as a morally wrong action.