An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The results of the recommendation given above depend on the specific situation in the nation of Tagus, and we cannot make blanket predictions about the same. The predicted result is, of course, that the Vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus will greatly reduce as a result of the availability of this new variety of millet.

The first, and most important question that needs to be answered is the cost of this millet to consumers. Even though it has been stated that the farmers will be given subsidies, this recommendation does not state anything about the consumers themselves. Should the millet be sold at a higher rate by farmers, the people of Tagus may not be ready to adopt the new variety. This depends on whether or not subsidising the cost to the consumer is considered a part of what the government of Tagus can do to promote this millet. It might also be difficult for the government to do so, since the nation is already impoverished, and further subsidies might hurt the economy.

Should the millets be subsidised to consumers, and also marketed well, the people of Tagus should be able to adopt this new variety. However, we also need to consider other cultural factors. For instance, if the people are largely resistant to change, it might take longer for them to come around to this new crop. It also raises the question of what exactly their relationship with the government is like. If the people are already suspicious of the government due to their past actions, they understandably would be hesitant to try out something on their recommendation.

Another important factor to consider is access to people. The recommendation states that millet is a staple food in Tagus. However, it is certainly possible that even ordinary millet is out of reach for the most impoverished people in the country (in terms of cost). In such cases, the government would need to subsidise this new millet beyond even what ordinary millet costs, in order to allow these people to consume it. Again, this brings the feasibility of such a scheme into consideration. It may not be feasible to do this in an already impoverished country.

Thus, there are a multitude of questions that need to be answered and taken into consideration before making the assumption that this would automatically resolve the Vitamin A deficiency in Tagus. Such schemes tend to depend on the current economic and political system in that region.