An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The International development organization think that to combat Vitamin A Deficiency among the people of Tagus, new engineered breed of millet  should be grown which is abundant in Vitamin-A. Interantional organization comes to this conclusion based on the fact that millet is the staple food of Tagus. But, before arriving at this point it is important to answer the following three questions.

First and foremost , Is it feasible to grow the newly engineered millet (High in Vitamin-A) in the country of Tagus? Although even the government provides the subsidies to the farmer, It is quite possible that the weather conditions in the country are not suitable for the crop to grow. Even if the crop can grow in the country of tagus, Can the government actually subsidise the crop for all the farmers who are growing it? Perhaps, For getting the subsidy most of the farmers want to grow the new variety, It might not be feasible for the government to subsidise it and eventually other economical problems arise.So, it is not a feasible plan. If any of the above examples hold merit, then the suggestion of the International Developmental Organization holds no water.

Secondly, Will the people readily adapt to the new type of crop? Even though millet is the staple food of the people of Tagus, It is possible that due to the prices of the newly engineered millet quite high than the natural one, People are reluctant to buy the high Vitamin millet. It is also possible that the high Vitamin millet is causing side effects in people and therefore no one is ready to consume it. If any of the given examples comes out to be true, then the International Developmental oragnizations plan of combating Vitamin-A deficiency through growing engineered millet can turn out be a disaster.

Finally, The main question that arises is that will the Vitamin-A in the crop translate into human body? It is pehaps possible that the cooking style of the people in Tagus mostly involves deep frying (or) Some other technique which might result in decreasing Vitamin-A quantity in the final product consumed by the people. If this turns out to be the case, then even if the crop contains high Vitamin-A , It will not be translated into people and the assertion of the International Developmental Organization does not work.

In Conclusion, the suggestions of the organization as of now are flawed. If there can more evidence which can support the given statements in a formidable way, Then we can evaluate the suggestions of the International Developmental Organization. But, As of now these suggestions stand unwarranted.