An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While the support from government is highly significant, the recommendation of the author that the government is required to do everything to promote the new type of millet leaves us with various questions to be answered before a conclusion can be reached. While the author makes various arguments, such arguments are rife with holes and assumptions and more evidenc is required to place reliance on the recommendation made.

Firstly, the author argues that an International organisation has developed a new breed of millets that is rich in Vitamin A to slove the deficiency issues in the nation of Tagus. Here he makes the assumption that the millets that are newly developed are rich in Vitamin A. On further introgation,

Questions like "Are the milets sufficent to fulfil the needs of other nutrients and minerals?" or "Will the consumption of such millets rich in Vitamin A create a deficiency of other Vitamins?" Shall be answered to give a concrete support to the assumption. On aswering the questions, we can find out where consumption of such millets has any side effects on the diet of the people in the nation and is it feasible for them to consume it.

Second assumption that the author makes is in regards to the subsidies the farmers will be provided with. While it is valid to argue that the farmers are compensated with subsidies to bear the high cost of prodicing the new variety of millets, it is flawed on basis of the asummption made. The author cannot be sure of the amount of subsidies that are provded and in case they are provided question such as "The type of subsidies that are provided" or "the period when such subsidies are provided" are to be answered. If the farmers are not satisfied with the subsidies proved to them, they may not produce such crops. Therefore, understanding the type of subsidies and willingness of farmer to accept such subsidies is important before taking a step further.

Furthermore, he argues that since millets is the staple food of the people in Tagus, they will easily adopt to the new variety of food. Before coming to such conclusion the author must answer to questions, "whether a survey is conducted to prove the same?" or "Is there going to be no change in the taste of the millets that may lead the people to incline to the old variet of millets itself?". Only on confirming the positive outcome of such survey, we may conclude on the argument made reliably.

Hence, even thought the government is responsible for betterment of the deficieny of Vitamin A situation in the nation, it is adviced to obtain more reliable evidences and information before taking any step further. Questions like the effectivenss of the millets, the side effects, the details of subsidies to be provided and the willingness of farmers to take such subsidies are to be answered and a general survey is required to be conducted before the government focuses on implimentation of this new type of millets.