An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

In the prompt, the author suggested that a new type of millet rich in vitamin A will be helpful for the impoverished nation of Tagus and thus, government should try to promote it. The author came to this conclusion based on the response to vitamin A deficiency among poeple in Tagus and the engineering of a new type of millet breed that is rich in Vitamin A. While the author's suggestion might be helpful, but before evaluation the validiting of this suggesting, three questions must be answered.

First of all, was any survey conducted on the people of Tagus on if they are ready to accept the new breed of millet? Author came to the conclusion based on the assumption that the residents of Tagus will readily adopt the new variety because millet is already a staple food. But it might be possible that the new millet breed does not taste the same as the old breed. There is a possibility that the new millet breed although high in vitamin A does not become popular among the residents because of its different taste, texture or some other factor. If this scenario comes true, the authors argument will be weakened.

Secondly, will the new breed be similar to the old breed in terms of price? Although the farmers will be paid subsidies for the hgh cost of seeds, but the international development organization might want to make up for the high cost of seeds with the revenues that come from selling the crop. Thus, the price for the millet crop might be significantly higher than the old breed. Since, millet is a stable food in Tagus, people might be relunctant to buy a costlier breed. If the above scenerio proves to be true, author's argument of promoting the new breed will not be effective.

Lastly, the author will need to provide evidence of the success of the yielding the new millet breed seeds. An international development organization has engineered a new breed of millet, but there is no guarantee that the seeds will yield into crops sucessfully. It might be possible that the weather or the fields of Tagus is not suitable for growing the new breed millet crops. If the author is not able to provide evidence in favor of the successful yielding of new breed millet in the fields of Tagus, his suggestion for promoting the new breed will hold no water.

In conclusion, the suggestion that the author provided is significantly flawed as it is depended on some unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide evidence and answer the above stated questions in support for his suggestion, only then it will be possible to evaluate the validity of his suggestion and only then his suggestion might bring the likely outcome he predicted