An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the passage concludes that the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote the new type of millet but this conclusion is based on various assumptions and questions that need to be answered. Without further information the author does not make a cogent case to support the conclusion.

Firstly, the author mentions international development organization has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. There is no further information in the passage that this organization has developed the solution in consideration with the Tagus economic conditions. The solution might help the people to combat vitamin A deficiency, but can people in the impoverished nation buy the costly millet. This new expensive millet can also lead to the opposite of what it is intended for. People might stop buying millet due to higher prices and may change to a different food leading to increase in vitamin A deficiency.

Additionally, author mentions that farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. However, in an impoverished nation is it possible to provide enough subsidies for faming of new type of millet. Can the government afford to provide subsidies to every farmer. If the subsidies are not enough then the production will not be sufficient to fulfil the needs of people who consume millet as a staple food. No additional information is given about the amount of new type of millet that must be consumed to combat the vitamin A deficiency.

Furthermore, the author concludes that to combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet. For promoting the new type of millet, the government will need to distribute free samples and advertise the health benefits of this millet. Can government of a pecuniary nation afford to distribute free samples and extensively advertise the new type of millet. This promotion will strain the nation's economy.

In conclusion, the author must provide further information regarding the assumptions and arguments he made in the passage. The information given by author is not sufficient to prove that the conclusion derived by the author is valid. Only by answering the questions and providing statistical information can author make the conclusion valid