An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states that the government of Tagus should promote new type of millet to combat the deficiency in vitamin A based on certain evidence proved by the argument.The first evidence is that the new breed of millet is high in vitamin A.Also that the millet is a staple food in Tagus.And even if the seeds cost more,the farmers will be provied subsidies for farming the new variety of millet.For the recommendation to work it should be evaluated.

Firstly,the argument says that the new breed is high in vitamin A.But is the amount of vitamin A in this breed enough to eliminate the deficiency in the people?If not,then the millet is no better than the existing ones.Alternatively, the high amounts of vitamin A are safe for consumption and would not lead to any side effects?.Are there any cheaper alternative not available which can eliminate the deficiency?.If these high amounts of vitamin A not safe and there are safer and cheaper alternatives available, we can switch to them.

Secondly,it is stated that the seeds cost more but subsidies will be provided.But will this subsidies provided in time?.Also the subsidies provided, are they enough to buy these expensive seeds?.Will they put not burden on farmer's money?.If not,then farming this breed can be a huge buden on farmers and they may try cheating of some sort to compensate their losses.And even the effects of farming these new breed of millets should be taken under consideration.Do they have any dangerous effect on the land?.For example,if we consider indigo crop,farming them extensively can render land uncultivable after some amount of time.So this also should be considered.

Lastly,the argument says that the millet is a staple food of Tagas,so people will readily adopt the new variety.But does the new breed of millet taste the same as earlier one?.Furthermore,will they cost the same?.If not,then people will hesitate in buying new breed as they are accustomed to the earlier taste and also people with less money to spend would not consider these millets as they will cost them extra.

The argument's recommendation will have predicated results only if all of these questions are answered and proved correct.If these prove wrong,then the effectiveness of the argument will weaken.Therefore, for the argument to stand substantial, more evidence favoring the argument should be given.