Over past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza have steadily decreased while the populairty of skateboarding has increased dramatically.Central Plaza owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza.There is dramatic increase in amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited in Central Plaza, the business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

The argument states that over past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza have steadily decreased while the populairty of skateboarding has increased dramatically.It also recommends that the city should prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza.It bases its argument on the following assumptions.First assumption is that decrease in Central Plaza's business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. The second assumption is that there has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza.And on basis of these assumptions, it makes the third assumption that if skateboarding is prohibited in Central Plaza, the business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.The argument is not substantial as the assumptions made can be proved invalid.

Firstly, the argument states that the Central Plaza owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaze.Now do we know for sure that the skateboarders never shop in Central Plaza?.All shoppers never use skateboards?.If the questions give positive answers then it will weaken the argument as relating the decrease in business with number of skateboarders will be wrong.These skateboarders might be even contributing to the business by bringing more people in the plaza.Is the decrease in business not due to lack of better products?If not,then increasing the quality of products will help the businesses in the Central Plaza.

Secondly, the argument states that there is dramatic increase in amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza.But are all these litter and vandalism caused by skateboarders?.They could be caused by window shoppers or kids which may render the assumption invalid.Without knowing for sure who have caused these damages, we can put the entire blame on the skateboarders.There also could be rival mall people who may be causing damages when the mall is not under supervision.

Lastly, the argument assumes that prohibiting skateboarding in Central plaza will result business returning to its previously high levels.Are you for sure the skateboards do not contribute to businesses at all?If not,then prohibiting them might result in further decrease in business.Furthermore, the cause of decrease might be something else, and prohibiting the skateboards would result in any good change, as the major cause is still there.So we need to understand the exact cause of the decrease in business in Central Plaza.

Due to lack of evidence in data provided the argument is not valid.To make it substantial, we need evidence in favor of the assumptions provided to strenghten their stance.In conclusion, the provided assumptions are not enough to validate the recommendation provided by the argument.