To understand most important characteristics of a society,one must study its major cities.

Society is described by important characteristics such as standard of living, people's way of life, their values, their food,thier clothing etc.In a nation,major cities have most of the working population which influence the nation's development.But these important characteristics of the society differ from region to region.One cannot comprehend all these important characteristics of all societies by just studying the major cities.As the people living in rural areas differ in great contrast from the people living in major cities.Also people living in one major city have different characteristics than people in another city.

Most of the people in rural areas have smaller goals which are confined to their area.While, the people in major cities dream of making big, have goals at global scale.Also facilities provided in major cities are way more than in rural areas.One gets modern facilities like better transport facilities, availability of variety of products, better educational facilities etc which rural areas lack.This affects the way of life in both regions.People in rural areas may be living in big houses but their earning is way less as compared to the people in major cities.They earn more but have smaller homes.Also people in major cities have a fast-paced lives whereas people in rural areas have comparatively laid back lives.

We can consider an example, where people in some rural areas have bacward thinking.They give less importance to a girl's education while in major cities you can observe girls faring better than boys in many competetive exams.Rural people have a thinking that in a girl's life, bearing children is the most important purpose of her life.They treat her education as secondary thing whereas home activities are given utmost importance.In contrast, people in major cities treat both boys and girls equally.Education here is considered essential for a child's development.

While differences are stark in major cities and rural areas,there are also differences between major cities.Their traditions and way of life also differ at great extent depending on their locations.For example,people in northen regions have heavy diet of meat,diary etc as they have colder climate while people in southern regions have lighter diets to ambat heat.We can consider major cities like mumbai and delhi, where we can spot differences in their food, clothing, way of talking etc.

Therefore, for understanding a society's important characteristics, one cannot just study major cities.As differences can be spotted every kilometer as we ove forward.One ha to individally study societies for better understanding of its important characteristics.