It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

According to the dictionary, a hero is someone with an established moral conduct and stance which has been judged to be exemplary and worth emulating for the ultimate good of the society. Based on this definition, this claim is cannot be judged to be inaccurate because in most modern society, it is difficult to identify a person with character that is worth emulating. This purpose of this response is to support the stated claim and provide backing examples.

With the advent of technology it is now possible to trace the true intentions of aspiring heroes; based on their past social interactions and public statements. This is particularly made possible through the advent of social media. For instance, through these internet platforms selfish and contemptible statements made by a political moralist, a freedom fighter, are readily unearthed. This causes him to appear fake in the eyes of the society that places him on a high moral standard.

Secondly, due to the advent of the internet it is relative easier to share public opinions. Opinions that contrast put the society in a moral dilemma on evaluating the stance of respected people. The What has been strongly established as the truth in times past is now relative because the society now has access to a variety of opinions and can consider stances from various perspective. As such, these societies, being able to think for themselves, remove heroes from the high pedestal they put them on.

On contrary, it is still possible for sovieties to regard a feew living people as heroes due to their outstanding contributions in such societies. For example, Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to people who have contributed immensely to improving living conditions and fighting for human rights of their people in a bid to promote peaceful living. A few recipients of this award have been considered as heroes in their respective communities. This, although opposing the claim, is countered by the realizations most of recipients have be judged to have selfish interests. This particularly causes yearly contentions on the validity of recipients of this award, therefore implying that he society is gradually arriving at a point where no one is regarded as a hero.

In conclusion, the claim rightfully states that the society no longer regard any living person as a heros. This is because, with the advent of technology, the truth is now relative and it is now easier to recognize individuals for who they truly are.