Claim Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system Reason Laws cannot change what is in people s hearts or minds

With advancement in technologies that allows modernization, globalization and intermixing of human societies, comes one of the common dillemma of twenty first century, wheather or not modern problems of these societies can be solved by laws and legal system. The issue states that the problems cann't be solved by strong legislature referring to the inability of laws to change human nature and instincts. since the reason is based on several evidences and is strong enough to validate the statement, I agree to the reason as well as the claim.

First and foremost, people's heart and minds are the determining factors for laws, and laws are not determining factors for people's heart and minds. Most of the modern societies are based on democracy and democracy provides the right of legislature to the people. They are there with soverign right to form, ammend and delete any laws and legal systems if necessary. Most importantly, the root of these laws lies in the heart and mind of people, not in the ones who are part of legal system. The quote 'People are not there for the law, law is there for the peple' clearly fits in this scenario. This approves the given reason behind the claim.

Secondly, We have seen various revolutions around the world, changing not only legislatures, but also the system in which legislatures depend. Not only popular revolutions such as Arab Spring of 2011, lesser known events such as revolution that happened in Nepal in 2006 are part of this procedure. Ability of public to change systems this way illucidates ability of people's mind and heart to determine the way legislature goes. The claim is strengthened by this statement.

Further, we have seen that imposing stronger laws in order to change people's heart and minds can lead to grave circumstances. Recent conditions of france and Manipur state of india are among plethora of examples. Racial violence in Manipur state of India broke out when when new laws and ammendements in prevailing laws were imposed by state assembly. These laws were imposed in order to change what people of one ethnic group perceive another ethnic group. However, these laws, instead of changing their perception, lead to acerbic situation between tribes and eventually a fiasco. Similar conditions appeared in france since february 2023 when a certain law and strong legal system came face to face with its public.

One can argue that human heart and mind changes along with laws and legal systems, this process is much slower than expected. abolition of slavery in United states took decades, if not centuries to take effect. similar example can be seen regarding untouchability in Nepal. Untouchability was imposed in 1847 AD by government, it is still in practice among rural areas of nation. Strong legislature can hasten this process, but this is not without demerit of its own, as mentioned in previous paragraph.

In conclusion, it is now illuciadated that strong laws cannot change people's heart and mind and hence the problems of modern society will not be solved with strong laws and legal system. It is equally necessary to find middle grounds to find ways to solve these issues with other methods.