many lives could be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of inoculations, we cannot permit the cow flu inoculations to be administered routinely.

In the above given statement the author assumes that many lives could be saved if the inoculation of cow flu is administered to "all" people, which sounds absolutely ridiculous and not pragmatic at all.

Here when author himself is not sure that it is 100 percent sure that the inoculation is is better way to cure the disease: as he himself states the possibility of death as a result of inoculation, how could he conclude that it is a better idea to inoculate all people of the area where cow flu is detected. It's not just the people who are suffering from cow flu, the author is talking about the healthy people as well.

As ridiculous as it sounds it is even dangerous to do so, the inoculation might even lead to many other problems and side effect for the people who are not even suffering from it. It is absolutely not practicable at all. However, the later part of the statement seems reasonable as nobody would like to risk their life inoculating themselves just considering that they are preventing the cow flu virus that might or might not attack them. But the 'small possibility' mentioned in the paragraph is the possibility of someone's life or death and it cannot be taken so lightly.

Here, the best way to solve the problem is to perform further research and insure nobody's like is at stake especially the one who are not even suffering from the cow flu at the first place. Finding other alternatives that are safer is other way to solve the problem.

Hence, the author needs to carry out some more research on the details about the cons and pros of the inoculation.