"A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer."

I would like to agree with the given statement that all the students of the nation should study same national curriculum until they enter college. All the students should at least have common knowledge to some extent.

During school students just learn to get hold of life learn to become practical along with several other facts about the society, nation and the world. School time is the period of life when we enjoy our life and not worry about the many responsibilities that are to come. Also we are not that mature enough to figure out what we want to pursue in life. No one should be forced to take such decision at such a young age as it is one of the crucial decisions of the life.

First we need to experience several events and eventually figure out what our interest is, as the time passes by. It's not as easy as saying, I want to be a doctor just because they look smart and save other people's life. In order to become a doctor you need to have a strong hold on some science majors such as biology, chemistry, etc. Many time we often change our mind constantly on what could we take for our major even when we graduate from the high school, then how can we expect anyone to decide during school time itself.

By same curriculum, it doesn't meant students are not allowed to take curriculum of his/her interest during school time as well. It would be a great idea to take the subject of your interest side by side with your school curriculum decided by the nation. As this might help figure out what his or her interest is inclined to because as a human beings it is believed that everyone is born with some kind of inborn talent.

Hence, it is not just pragmatic to allow the student to take different curriculum and same national curriculum until the college is a fair and appropriate decision for all the students of the nation.