All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The above given statement is well said and I agree with it somehow but its always not pragmatic for a company to get all the operations done by its own employees. Though company and its operations are well known by its own employees better than outside consultants it is unlikely that all the problems could be solved by the employees of the same company.

Though company's employees are sufficient to figure out all sorts of operations often there are such issues that are not related to what the company does or in which the employees have no knowledge. Lets take an example of a hospital, whose one of the machines is not functioning properly in such case the hospital would rather hire the respective consultant who is expert in this field of work than telling its doctors to fix it.

Many times people get too emotional with the people around them but a company cannot afford to be emotional towards its employees. If there is something that its employees are not confident enough to perform then it must hire an outside consultant who is expert in the field. If a company is facing trouble with its financial issues its better for the company to get the counselling from a financial management expert rather than consulting it with its employees because it might rather freak the employees which might lead to the degradation of quality of the service provided by the employees

Having been said this, its always good to listen to your employees because they are the reason behind the success and failure of the company, which goes by the saying that if you take care of your employees then they will take care of your company. Its always better to listen to your employees and assure them even if the company hires an outside consultant its for the betterment of both company and the employees.

Hence, hiring outside consultants could be useful in many cases but the company ought to listen to its employees as well for the better and efficient functioning of the company.