Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

In the text, the writer says that in areas where the cow flu was endemic, if more and more people were vaccinated against it, it would save many lives. Then he goes on to say that since there is a certain risk of death associated with the routine administration of the cow-flu vaccine, this solution is not permitted.

I find numerous flaws in the writer's argument. Firstly, the writer has not clarified and given many details about how widespread the cow flu is. It may be possible that cow flu is detected in only a small region in the entire world, or it may be a potential pandemic disease as well. I feel this is a critical piece of evidence required from the writer. The author has also failed to provide data regarding exactly how many people or rather what percentage of people affected would live if administered the cow flu vaccine. It is key evidence of how many lives the vaccine is saving. The statement made by the author is therefore quite ambiguous and we, as readers, are not able to gather much from it.

Secondly, the author is also not giving exactly how much the chances of people dying, if inoculated against the disease. It may be possible that only 0.001% of the population may die, which may be quite less than the count of deaths caused by cow flu, thereby weakening the author's claim. It may also be possible that greater than 10% of the population may die, which might be much greater than the actual number of deaths due to the disease itself and could strengthen the author's argument. As we can easily infer, specific numbers or percentages are required to correctly evaluate the author's statements.

So all in all, I feel that the author's argument is substantially weak, and some concrete data and evidence are required to support the argument and convince the reader beyond doubt.