The market for the luxury-goods industry is on the decline. Recent reports show that a higher unemployment rate, coupled with consumer fears, has decreased the amount of money the average household spends on both essential and nonessential items, but especially on nonessential items. Since luxury goods are, by nature, nonessential, this market will be the first to decrease in the present economic climate, and luxury retailers should refocus their attention to lower-priced markets.

The author argument on the reason for decline for the market of luxury-goods is not entirely flawless. The premises of the arguments and its conclusion have certain logical faults.

For instance, how valid is the reports carried out on the decreased amount of money each household are willing to spend on essential and nonessential commodities? What type of methods was carried out to yield the reports? Was it survey or questionnaire? Were the types of questions asked redundant or not? What percentage of the population responded to the research carried out? Was it minority or majority? What ratio of the employed and unemployed people responded to the research? If little percentage responded, then the results don’t speak for the majority. Without knowing the answers to this questions, it will be unwarranted to conclude the reports as being what the whole population wants.

Furthermore, there are many types of nonessential goods; the fact that luxury is one doesn’t necessarily mean that it will be the first to decrease in the present economic climate. Some people place priority of certain nonessential over others, and so other nonessential goods might decrease in sales faster than luxury goods. There is also the fact that not all the population is unemployed or have consumer fears, some of them are employed one way or the other and will have no problem purchasing nonessential goods.

Lastly, there is no assurance that if luxury retailers refocus their attention to lower-priced market that it will yield higher sales. If more people are unemployed ij that population, then they won’t be able to afford lower-priced commodities either.

Therefore, even though there is the possibility that nonessential good will diminish in sales more than essential based on the study carried out on the population, there is no guaranty that luxury goods will be the goods to decline faster than other goods.